A Credential That Recognizes Skill In Family Matters

The decisions you make in divorce and family law proceedings can affect you the rest of your life. Why trust your situation to a less experienced lawyer when you can have a California certified specialist in family law?

Very few California attorneys can hold themselves out as certified specialists in a particular practice area. Lawyers that hold this title have met strict demands laid out by the California state bar. Extensive experience along with demonstrated success in their field is required.

What Does it Take to Become a Certified Specialist in Family Law?

To be certified by the State Bar of California, a lawyer must:

  • Have focused at least 25 percent of his or her practice in the area of certification over the last five years
  • Be an active member of the State Bar of California
  • Pass a written exam
  • Show a high level of experience and achievement in the area
  • Complete at least 45 hours of continuing legal education in the selected area
  • Be in favorable standing with peers and judges

Certification as a specialist in family law requires that the attorney demonstrate considerable experience in handling family law matters, including:

The lawyer must also show substantial involvement in the family law area, as demonstrated by court, hearing and counseling participation.

Is There a Certified Family Law Specialist in Walnut Creek?

Yes, at the Law Offices of David M. Lederman, our founding attorney is one of few in Contra Costa County who has met the above requirements. David Lederman is a specialist in family law as certified by the State Bar of California Board of Legal Specialization. In more than 25 years of practice, he has helped many clients achieve their goals in family law cases. With us, you receive quality legal representation from an experienced, competent lawyer.

For a consultation at either our Walnut Creek or Antioch office, please call 866-463-2149 or send us an email.